NKOTBSB at Fenway

Good things come to those who wait!  We’ve all heard it throughout the course of our lives, but personally I think 23 years is a bit long to wait for the good thing(s)!

It all started in 1988 when I went on a field trip with my dad to Canobie Lake Park.  He was a Boston Public School teacher and took me on various field trips throughout the course of my childhood.  There were three other teacher’s daughters on the trip as well, so we all hung out that day.  I was 11, two of the girls were 12 and one was 14 or 15.  In the photo below, I am the one on the right too shy to smile {or look at} the camera.  {Yes, I used to be shy…I’ve overcome this malady}

That summer, the two 12 year olds and I spent a lot of time together down the Cape.  They got me into makeup, big hair and NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK!  They were older than me and “city girls” {Boston and a suburb of Boston…I was a country bumpkin being from Holliston} so therefore…they knew everything and it was cool no matter what!

My New Kids On The Block obsession was like most girls in the late 80’s early 90’s.  I was going to grow up to be Mrs. Joey McIntyre while other friends were going to marry other members of NKOTB!  I knew EVERY word to EVERY song they EVER sang!  My father took me to 6 NKOTB concerts where I screamed like every other NKOTB crazed teen girl.

**SIDE NOTE: I took my daughter to a Jonas Brothers concert last summer….BLESS MY POOR FATHER!!!  I now understand why he said “no” to going to EVERY concert.

When I was in my early teens, my bedroom walls had New Kids On The Block posters floor to ceiling!  {Joey McIntyre had one wall all to himself} Every Saturday morning I watched the New Kids On The Block cartoon which had the voices of the “Kids.”  My stepfather bought me a 6 pack of 6″ diameter buttons of  the “Kids” as well as their logo.  My parents, aunts, uncles and friends got me every NKOTB shirt, bedding set, curtains, book, poster, etc!  Of course I owned EVERY VHS video and watched the “Hanging Tough” one so much it broke! My mother had to get a new “Hanging Tough” tape because I had taken up the  “OH MY GOD MY WORLD IS OVER” attitude  for the day and a half I was without the sacred tape!

My New Kids On The Block mania lasted till I was about 15.  I grew out of my obsession right about the same time they stopped touring.  It was a mutual break up of sorts, we all just grew apart, but had some great times together.  Over the years when I  hear a New Kids song, I  smile.  Nostalgia is a wonderful feeling.  My daughter knows some of the songs too and we’ll  sing along when we hear them.

Now fast forward to 2011…New Kids On The Block will be performing at FENWAY PARK with the Backstreet Boys!!!!!  TWO of my childhood passions  together for one day only!  My inner 12-year-old came out as soon as I saw the announcement!  I MUST GET TICKETS TO THIS!!!  I posted my desire to go to the concert on facebook and my former sister-in-law said she wanted to go too because she loves Fenway and the Backstreet Boys! So, I got tickets and we are now going together!

**SIDE NOTE: I do know who the Back Street Boys are because I was a DJ when they were big, but I am too old to have been crazed over them.  S-I-L is 9 years younger than me, so she is crazed about BSB just as I am about NKOTB!

SATURDAY JUNE 4th, 2011:

My friend, Danielle, turned 30 and a bunch of us celebrated her Bday at a Red Sox game at Fenway Park.  We have a routine when we go to Fenway because we all go so often.  Get there early, hang outside Fenway till they let us in chatting with Michael, the sausage guy, then go up to the top of the Monstah to watch Batting Practice, after that go to the bullpen to watch the pitcher du jour and catcher warming up, finally we go to our respective seats.  Some days….like Saturday…there is a player fan photo session for half an hour where you get your pic with a Red Sox player.  {we sprinkle that in accordingly}

Here are some of the Diamond Dolls at Fenway on Sat.  {A few don’t like to be in photos}

We walked into the bleachers rather than going to the top of the Monstah because we knew BP wasn’t going to take place, but we wanted to watch the pitchers working out.  {all the pitchers not just the pitcher du jour}  When we got to the bleachers we saw a camera crew filming 9 guys in the field.  I don’t know who it was, but someone said, “Oh my gawd! That’s New Kids and Backstreet Boys!”  WHAT????  Wait….WHAT???

The Fenway Park NKOTBSB concert was a week away and they were shooting promo shots and video.  {If I am correct, this will all be shown at the concert next week.}  So, here we are up in the bleachers and NKOTB are right below me.  My inner 12-year-old came back!  “EEEEEEEKKK!!!  LOOK JOEY MAC!!!!  HOLY COW!!!!”  {or words to that effect}

After the photo/video shoot wrapped up on the field of Fenway, they all went to the dugout  for more video and photos.  {Like I said, I’m sure it’s all going to be shown on Sat at the concert.} So, we all went down to the bullpen to hang out for a bit before heading over to get a fan photo with Red Sox player, Drew Sutton. When I saw it was tome to go over for the fan photo, none of the girls wanted to come with me.  😦  Well fine! I’ll go by my damn self!  So me and my damn self started to head over to Gate D.

**SIDE NOTE: There are time frames, etc, for when you can/can’t walk through Fenway, so this part of the field trip was not supposed to happen.   My theory in life is “KEEP WALKING UNTIL THEY TELL YOU TO STOP!”  So I did and they didn’t.   ANY WAY….

As I was walking to Gate D {behind 3 security members} I noticed cameras and video cameras.  Something was going on in the halls of Fenway as I approached.  HOLY COW!!!  I was walking in on part of the NKOTBSB photo/video shoot.  So I hung back at the entrance to the area {to the left of the home plate concourse before Gate D where all the Red Sox logos throughout the years are}and took out my phone to snap this pic….

I mean really….WHEN was I going to get THIS close to a member of NKOTB in my life? This was SO cool to watch!  I know the pic is kinda fuzzy, but my heart was racing and my hands trembled.

A group of guys {on a Fenway tour of sorts} walked through quietly so I joined in on the tail end.  As I got half way across the photo/video shoot this big {and I mean HUGELY BIG, GIANT} man told me to stay put because they were going to take a video and didn’t want me to trip on the cords.  {ok, so he was huge and very sweet!}  🙂

Where did he have me stop? Right in front of JOEY FREAKIN’ McINTYRE!!!!! *swoons*  I am now standing 10 feet from my childhood crush.  To the right….Jordan Knight! Jordan smiled at me and said hi. I quietly said hi back. I looked at Joey and he winked at me.  Yup! That was almost the last thing that ever happened to me.  “How did she die?” “Joey Freakin’ McIntyre winked at her and she dropped dead on the spot!” “Sad, but at least she died happy.”

I made an attempt to take a photo of Joey while I was standing there, but as you can see, my hands were shaking too much.  The next photo I attempted to take was of Jordan.  It came out better, but my hands were still shaking.  WTF I’m 34 not 12!!!!  OY!

I remembered I had my actual camera with me {in a brief moment of clarity} and tried to take a less fuzzy photo.  Again, with my hands shaking like I was suddenly struck with some debilitating disease, the photo is a little fuzzy.  But here is Joey, Jordan, Jonathan and one of the Back Street Boys.

So, after my inner 12-year-old got to be mere feet from her childhood heart-throb, I continued walking to my final destination….through Gate D and onto Yawkey Way to see Red Sox player Drew Sutton.  Here is the proof photo of Sutton and I.

After the photo with Sutton, I was eager to get back to my friends and tell them about my adventures with NKOTB!!!  I walked back into Gate D and was intending to walk down the ramp which leads to the concourse, but my new BFF, Mr Giant Security, told me I couldn’t walk down the ramp.  He said they were going to be doing more “shooting” for the video.  I asked if I could stand along the side and watch, he said yes.  {seriously, as big as he was….JUST AS SWEET!}

So I watched as the New Kids On The Block along with the Backstreet Boys walked up and down the ramp at Gate D.  When they were walking back the first time Donnie Wahlberg was right next to me so I said quietly, “Yaaaaaaay Donnie!” He looked up and said, “Hey what’s up?” with a smile! I said, “I’m looking forward to going to the concert next week. I’ve been a fan for over 25 years.” He said, “That’s so cool. Thank you!”  Then they walked down again and this time back Joey looked at me and I said, “Can’t wait to see you in concert next week.” He said, “That’s awesome! Thanks!” *swoons*

Here are all the guys getting ready to walk down the ramp…

After they walked up and down the ramp at Gate D of Fenway, they were all in a group on Yawkey Way waiting for further instructions from the film crew.  I walked over like I was meant to be there {Remember my theory.KEEP WALKING UNTIL THEY TELL YOU TO STOP!} A different member of security was there and told me I couldn’t get any closer to the New Kids or Back Street Boys, so I hung out with him for a bit and chatted.  We were talking about the concerts and the Red Sox when Jordan Knight came over to us.  I told him I was a fan and couldn’t wait for the concert next week.  He said it was awesome that I was still a fan after 25 years and agreed to take a photo with me.  Now keep in mind he was all happy smiles right before I took the photo…

After I looked at it on my phone I looked at him and said, “Really?”  He laughed and simply said, “Yup!” and walked away.  Danny Wood came over next and again I gave him the fan-girl speech and he agreed to a photo as well.

I had told him I loved NKOTB and would love them forever before I took the photo.  after the photo I asked him to get me Joey Mac and told him I would love him forever if he did.  He smiled and  said, “You already said you loved me/us forever though.” I said with a grin, “OK, I will love YOU forever and a day if you get Joey over here for a photo!” So he walked over to Joey and as he got to him, the video people told the crew to move onto the next location.  “Step to the side please.” security said and the New Kids and Backstreet Boys with their entourage walked past me.  Joey and Danny looking at me as they walked.    Next thing I knew, someone had their hand around my elbow and was saying, “Well, get walking.”  It was my security friend pushing me into the entourage.  As we all walked down the concourse I was walking next to this kid who I recognized as a BSB but wasn’t sure of his name.  I put my arm around him and said, “I am so excited for your concert here next week!  I hope you guys have a great time and good luck with everything!”  A different security guy came over and said, “Miss don’t touch the Backstreet Boys.”  He said, “Nah dude, it’s ok.” Then I said, “Oh Honey, I won’t hurt him, relax.”

**SIDE NOTE: I am pretty sure there is a personal security guy for each member of the bands as well as general security for them.  Their entourage was flippin’ huge!

As we all walked and chatted, I noticed Joey looking back at me while talking to Danny and they were both smiling.  Here I am thinking I might actually get a photo with him, but alas no such luck, as they all went into a cordoned off area.  This is where my NKOTBSB journey came to its end.

When I finally made my way back to my girls I was shaking and nearly speechless! I told them this story and found out from Aislinn that it was Brian of BSB whom I was chatting with.  {He’s a lovely guy, and now I know his name}

Good things come to those who wait!  We’ve all heard it throughout the course of our lives, but personally I think 23 years is a bit long to wait for the good thing(s)!  Here is 11-year-old me and 34-year-old me…

….a lot has changed, but deep down, I will always LOVE NEW KIDS ON THE BLOCK!!!!!

2 Responses to “NKOTBSB at Fenway”

  1. Mellissa (minus 1 L) Says:

    I stumbled on your post by luck when I was googling something for the concert on Saturday. What an amazing experience! To think, you were just headed there for the game that day! 🙂 I’m a huge NKOTB fan….have met almost all of them! Will the Fenway concert be your 1st concert since they reunited in 2008?? It will be an amazing show, I promise you! I’ve seen NKOTBSB in concert already at Mohegan Sun, and look forward to Fenway! It will be EPIC!!!

  2. Courtney Says:

    I loved reading your story! What a lucky girl you are! I hope you enjoyed the show as much as I did. It really was an amazing thing to be a part of 🙂

Leave a Reply

